American Idol is back and I’m simply giddy.

I have gotten into many a heated debate with friends whose opinions I actually value regarding the incredibly redeeming qualities of “American Idol.”  While I never could stomach “The Bachelor/The Bachelorette” and I never really dug “Survivor” or “Big Brother” or “The “Amazing Race” or even “Wife Swap” I am a passionate defender of “American Idol.”  AI represents all that is good and wonderful about this country (with a bit of drama, too much Paula and a ton of cheese thrown in).  It is proof that is some bizarre way, we can all aspire to the American Dream and sometimes those most worthy of it are the least likely of us all.  Because at the end of the day, there is some hayseed from Kansas who has never been on a plain or a train who can open up his mouth and blow (to quote Randy). And being the easy-to-impress goober that I am, it tears me up every time.  Let the games begin!

