The same week I launch “My Commitment to Winning” I also launch “My Commitment to Higher Ed.”

I’m taking an online screenwriting class at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  Don’t ask me why, it seemed like a good idea at the time. I mean, between keeping clients and kids happy, unloading the damn dishwasher again, running carpool to jazz and checking in with my husband, I have tons of free time on my hands, right?  And this is a real class with real grades and everything.  Not like the continuing ed classes I took at Queens to learn about interior design or landscaping.  For the first time in 20 years, I will get graded by someone other than my husband.  Ouch. The first week was pretty easy – we introduced ourselves online.  It was clear no one really wanted to “go first.”  I figured that since I’m nearly twice as old as some of these kids, I would be the grown up and take the plunge.  So I announced I attended Chapel Hill when some of them were in utero and that I couldn’t be “more delighted” to take this class.  Can there be a stunned silence in cyberspace?  Then I had one of those weird anxiety attacks like I had in, well, in college! What if nobody likes me, I thought.  I mean, is it possible to have social anxiety while taking an online college course where the little tots, I mean other students, will never see you face?   Another “student” chimed in that he had me beat by seventeen years.  Alas, there is a collegiate god and he has not left me all alone with Freddie, a twenty-year-old senior from Fuquay Varina who works at the Pizza Hut.

