July 19th — People have been asking me the diff between “The View” and the “Today Show” appearances.  For those of you not in the know, Brad and I appeared on both shows about three weeks apart to promote 365 Nights.  Well, first off, the “Today Show” was way more stressful.  For several reasons, really.   The first is the start time.  We had to be there at some horrendously early time like 6:30 in the morning – which required a wake-up call at an unseemly hour so I could get my hot rollers heated and cooking.  Then, there were no Diet Cokes in the mini-fridge in our hotel room and no Diet Cokes in the cramped, dank little Green Room.  Charla was not perky, I must say.  Grateful to be there, sure, but not perky.

 

Matt, Meredith and Ann are all quite lovely – and I mean that literally. They are genetically gifted people.  Ann and Meredith wear these fabulous designer stilettos that make them at least four inches taller.  This is helpful because everyone on television is actually quite small. Even Matt Lauer.  There was a gap on the “Today Show” between our appearance with Meredith during the 8 a.m. hour and our appearance with Kathie Lee and Hojda (I so know I didn’t spell that right) during the 10 a.m. hour – so we popped across the square to a Dean and Deluca where I promptly plugged into a Diet Coke IV and sweated through a lovely (at least I thought) black silk dress.

 

Contrast that with sitting next to Whoopi in the make-up chairs, Brad and I hanging out in our own dressing room with our names on the door, chatting with Elizabeth Hasselback who “loves the book” and was chatting about it with her husband last night, meeting Babwa Wawa, bonding with Sherry Shephard and nodding politely to Joy Behar (who has really good hair).  Yes, they are all quite small, too.  Hanging out in the swank Green Room with a huge, flat-screen hi-def television – it’s true, people really don’t look as good in hi-def.  Overall, the experience was superb. And I had my peeps – Carole and Leigh – there, too…taking notes, taking pics and taking free food.

 

So people ask me, “how did it go?”  Well, I guess it went okay. It’s not like I watch the interviews.  Brad does. He likes to DVR them and “study them.”  Ugh – I know what I look like in real life and I know that I don’t look better in high-def sitting next to Elizabeth, Nordic godess, Hasselback. I imagine my voice sounds high and squeaky and that my hands are noticeable shaking. Besides, I figure that if messed up too bad, I would hear about it.  Namely from my 92-year-old grandmother who is always available for some brutally honest feedback, namely about where I’m “carrying my weight” these days.

 

There were a few things both show did have in common – namely the sensationalist approach that defines the very essence of national television and talk shows these days.  In other words, they asked shocking questions meant to stun and cause light-headedness. I’m not complaining (okay, maybe I am a little), it’s just that it’s hard to remind folks that I wrote a book about marriage.  Granted, the “Year” is what netted me and my sweet hubby room on the coach with Meredith (and let’s face it, a book deal), but the book is about marriage and not about mechanics.  

