I was thumbing through the Sur La Table catalog yesterday hoping to flag some kitchen utensil I can’t live without.  I don’t have a potato ricer, for example, and I’m starting to worry that my mashed taters aren’t as light and fluffy as they could be.  Ina’s mashed potatoes look pretty darned creamy. Or a garlic keeper – I have to admit that my garlic gets pretty beat up bumping around in the back of my produce drawer.  There are things that make one’s life better in the kitchen – butter keeper anyone? I LOVE my butter keeper – fresh, room temp butter at your fingertips.  Yes, I know, I don’t need fresh, room temp butter on every carb that passes my lips…but yum yum yum! 

 

And then, there are laughable, ridiculous kitchen gadgets that should have never seen the light of day – like the battery-powered vegetable peeler that Brad gave me last year for Christmas.  The one he ordered off the television.  The one that I have never been able to bring myself to use – because, really, is peeling vegetables that hard?

 

But this one has got to take the cake – Onion Goggles.  I’m not kidding.

 

These little goggles come in pink and black and feature a “comfortable foam” seal that protects the eyes from “onion vapors.”  It also has, hold onto your chopping block, anti-fog lenses!  They are $22 and can be yours just in time for Christmas!  Also, just in case you’re wondering, you CANNOT wear your onion goggles over other glasses.  The idea of someone deciding to chop onions and then opening a drawer to find their Baby Pink Onion Goggles and actually WEARING the Onion Goggles is more than I can bear.  Then, they have to hand wash their Onion Goggles (because Onion Goggles are too delicate to run in the dishwasher) and put them back in their appointed drawer for next time.

 

Clearly, this is the gift for the person who has everything including lots of time, energy and strength of character to walk around their kitchen wearing Onion Goggles.   And that is not moi.

